Friday, 02 November 2018 11:14

Statewide General Elections: Nov. 6

SARATOGA COUNTY — On Nov. 6 voters in New York will elect federal officials, statewide officials, and state senator and assemblyperson. Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. Absentee voting is available Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. at the Saratoga County Board of Elections located at 50 West High St. in Ballston Spa.

According to the New York State Board of Elections, as of April 1, 2018, Saratoga County has 40,968 active registered Democrats and 59,893 Republicans. Surprisingly 37,465 active registered individuals have with no party affiliation. 2,355 active voters are registered as Conservative while the Green Party trails with only 400. The Independence party has a whopping 9,088 active registered voters while The Women’s Equality Party has 30 and the Reform party has 16.

Information about the candidates were gathered from their websites respectively and summarized in order to express their backgrounds, experience or platforms.

Governor and Lieutenant Governor Candidates: 
• Andrew Cuomo: Dem, WF, I, WE.
  LT Gov.: Kathy Hochul
• Marc Molinaro: Rep, CON, REF.
  LT. Gov.: Julie Killian
• Howie Hawkins: Green
  LT. Gov.: Jia Lee
• Stephanie Miner: Serve America Movement
  LT. Gov.: Michael Volpe
• Larry Sharpe: Libertarian
  LT. Gov.: Andrew Hollister

• Thomas DiNapoli: Dem, WF, I, REF, WE
• Jonathan Trichter: Rep, CON
• Mark Dunlea: Green
• Cruger Gallaudet: Libertarian

New York State Attorney General: 
• Letitia James: Dem, WF, I
• Keith Wofford: Rep, CON
• Michael Sussman: Green
• Nancy Sliwa: REF
• Christopher Garvey: Libertarian

U.S. Senator
• Kirsten Gillibrand: Dem, WF, I, WE
• Chele Farley: Rep, CON, REF

U.S. Congress:
Charlton, Clifton Park, Halfmoon, Malta Mechanicville, Saratoga Springs and
parts of Stillwater and Ballston. Candidates are:

• Paul Tonko: Dem, WF, REF, WE
  Paul Tonko represents New York’s 20th Congressional District and is serving his fifth term after
  first being sworn into Congress in 2009.
• Joe Vitollo: Rep
  Vitollo is running for Congress in the New York 20th Congressional District. Vitollo plans to
  promote private enterprise, protect Constitutional liberties and restore fiscal sanity to Washington.

Galway, Greenfield, Milton, Moreau, Northumberland, Providence, Saratoga, Wilton,
some parts of Stillwater and Ballston. Candidates are:

• Tedra Cobb: D, WF, WE
  Cobb pledges to her constituents are to 1) work hard for everyone in her district, regardless of
  party affiliation and 2) to remain the transparent and honest person she’s known to be.
• Elise Stefanik: Rep, CON, I, RFM
  Stefanik is the representative for New York’s 21st Congressional District since 2015. From 2006 to
  2009, Stefanik served as part of President George W. Bush’s Domestic Policy Council Staff and in
  the Chief of Staff ’s office.
• Lynn Kahn: Green
  Kahn has a Ph.D. is clinical psychology and has worked as an organizational psychologist inside
  federal agencies for 32 years, including 61⁄2 years on the White House Partnership to
  Reinvent Government.

State Senate:
Greenfield, Halfmoon, Mechanicville, Moreau, Northumberland, Saratoga, Stillwater, Wilton
and parts of Saratoga Springs. Candidates include:
• Aaron Gladd: Dem, WF, WE
  “I fought my way out of poverty growing up in the Adirondacks, fought for our country’s values
  overseas, and fought for a better future for my family right here in upstate New York. Now, I’m
  fighting to give you a voice in Albany,” Gladd says on his website.
• Daphne Jordan: Rep, CON, I, RFM
  Legislative Director and Senate Local Government Committee Director for Senator Kathy
  Marchione. Jordan was overwhelmingly elected to the Halfmoon Town Board in 2014, and
  was re-elected in 2015. Jordan helped grow the Town’s General Fund balance from $70,000 to
  $3 million.

Ballston, Charlton, Clifton Park, Galway, Malta, Milton, Providence and parts of Saratoga Springs. Candidates include:
• Michelle Ostrelich: Dem, WF, WE
  According to Ostrelich’s website, her platform is health care for all, full funding for all our public
  schools and thriving local economies.
• Jim Tedisco: Rep, CON, I, RFM
  Tedisco has been representing the 49th State Senate District since 2016. Prior to the state
  Senate, Tedisco served in the New York State Assembly from 1983-2016 and served as
  Minority Leader from 2005 to 2009.

State Assembly:

Ballston, Charlton, Clifton Park, Galway, Greenfield, Halfmoon, Milton and Providence
• Mary Beth Walsh: Rep, CON, RFM
  Walsh was elected to the New York State Assembly in 2016.

Malta, Mechanicville, Moreau, Northumberland, Saratoga Springs, Saratoga, Stillwater and Wilton
• Carrie Woerner: Dem, I
  Woerner was elected to the NYS Assembly in 2014. In the Assembly, Woerner has continued to
  advocate for responsible spending and is focused on improving the business climate for small
  businesses and farms, strengthening public schools and protecting the traditions, heritage and
  culture of Saratoga and Washington counties.
• Morgan Zegers: Rep, CON, RFM
  As a member of the Assembly Zegers will stand up to corrupt, business-as-usual politics in Albany
  and stand up for the rights of Upstate New Yorkers.

Read 6134 times