JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 766

Thursday, 14 May 2015 11:02

Mayor Adds Saratoga Springs Arts Commission Appointments

Ardie Russell Named as Chairperson

SARATOGA SPRINGS – Saratoga Springs Mayor Joanne D. Yepsen has announced her latest appointments to the first Saratoga Springs Arts Commission. This expanded commission will serve as an advisory body to the mayor and the city council. 


The mission of the Arts Commission is to build upon Saratoga Springs’ reputation as a premier arts destination, to advocate for artists and arts/cultural organizations, and to inspire, encourage, and develop inclusive artistic and cultural activities and initiatives that will stimulate economic development, further advancing the quality of life and the vibrancy of our city.


The Arts Commission has already been working on various activities. Since December, the commission’s initial members have submitted a grant proposal for $50,000 to the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) to create an Arts Master Plan for the City of Saratoga Springs. Also, a creative planning “charette” (a design and planning activity) has been held to gain input from the community. Other activities are being scheduled for late spring and summer. 


“I’m thrilled to announce the creation and expansion of the first ever Saratoga Springs Arts Commission,” said Mayor Yepsen. “The Spa City and the greater Capital Region truly has unlimited potential when it comes to benefiting from the natural synergy that exists between sustainable economic growth and the creative arts. I’m proud to be joined by the many volunteers that I’ve appointed to this important commission.” 


Mayor Yepsen has named Ardie Russell, Arts Administrator and owner of Studio 518, as the commission’s chairperson. Other members appointed to the Saratoga Springs Arts Commission are: 

Amejo Amyot

Founder, Arts District on Beekman

Lance Bell

CEO, LGB, LLC Advertising Agency

Ian Berry

Dayton Director, The Frances Young Tang Teaching Museum and Art Gallery at Skidmore College

Devra Cohen-Tigor

Professor at Union Graduate School, Empire State College and New York Institute of Technology. 

Ria Curley

Ria Curley Music and Art 

Lawrence Edelson

Artistic and General Director, Opera Saratoga

William Finlay

Founder and former Artistic Director, Saratoga Shakespeare Company; Professor and Chair, Theater Department, Union College

Pantelis Kodogiannis


Founding Member, Renegade Theatre and Film Group


Jack Hyndman

Creative Director, Fingerpaint Marketing

Meg Kelly

Founder and Executive Director, Saratoga Children’s Theatre, Inc.

Beverley Mastrianni

Artist (sculptor); Former Member, National Advisory Council, The Frances Young Tang Teaching Museum and Art Gallery

Chris Millis

Writer, Producer, Cartoonist

Peter Nelson

President, Friends of Music Saratoga Springs

Director of Product Management, Informz

Joel Reed

Executive Director, Saratoga Arts

Susan Rivers

Fiber Artist, Artist Advocate

Planner, Elan Planning and Design

Dee Sarno

Chair, Board of Directors, Saratoga Arts Fest

Retired Arts Center Director and Educator

John Wager

Filmmaker, Director, Producer, Writer

Owner, Galileo Media Arts 

Marcia White

President and Executive Director, Saratoga Performing Arts Center

Dianne Winter

Associate Director, Caffe Lena


Read 4271 times